My Past of Politics.

I was thinking about this earlier, and realised that none of you have any idea about my political past, mainly because I don’t talk about it. So, I’ll tell you.
I am currently a Labour Party member. However, if you had asked me my political views this time last year, I would’ve answered differently. Last year I started my A Level in politics, and realising I didn’t particularly agree with the Conservatives, and disliking the current government, I researched the Liberal Democrat’s. Liking what I read and saw I classed myself as a Liberal Democrat supporter. Prior to this my only political thoughts had been a year or so earlier, in an art project I researched and based a project on The Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament. Around this time I also took a dislike to a politician, based on what I had been exposed to from the media, and my family, who are all non-political, and dislike all politicians, saying they are all just out for themselves. (I do not take this approach.)
There was a time before the general election that I believed a Conservative majority would be the outcome, believing this I decided to e-mail David Cameron, with what I thought, and wishing him the best for the election. It was around this time that I joined the social networking site, Twitter, and became very interested in what Sarah Brown, wife of then Prime minister, Gordon Brown tweeted. It occurred to me throughout the election that my heart was with Labour. Yet I clung to the Liberal Democrats, as it seemed the right choice at the time, I was also highly impressed with the performance of Nick Clegg, in various speeches and debates.
And then it all happened.. The formation of the coalition pushed me over the edge, after trying so hard to convince the Liberal Democrat’s to form a coalition with the Labour Party, which was far more ideologically correct, they betrayed us, and the Condem’s were formed. On this ground I joined the Labour Party, and I’ve never looked back since. I love the Labour Party, and I’ve never felt more accepted, the members and politicians alike are amazing.
My worst political experience so far has been when Gordon Brown resigned, I cried for hours. My Mum came home and found me crying, and she couldn’t understand why, but to me, it was awful. I really admire Gordon Brown, he’s what the country needs, not David Cameron.
My birthday was May 6th, I turned 17, I was devastated that I was exactly one year too young to vote, but now, I’m glad, I would have voted for the Liberal Democrat’s. In the next election, I’ll vote Labour.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tim Mullen
    Oct 25, 2010 @ 16:01:58

    Great post – I remember crying in 1979 when Margaret Thatcher won (I was 14 and got suspended from school for complaining about a teacher wearing a Conservative rosette). I got kicked out of a taxi in the early hours of post-election day 1992 after I had given the driver a not too polite piece of my mind after he told me he had voted Conservative, and was glad Neil Kinnock had lost! This year I found Gordon’s final speech in Downing Street immensly moving, and I only regret that he was never fully able to convey what went on in his heart to the wider public, for then I’m sure he would have won a fourth term for Labour.

    Now you’ve joined the Party, just as I celebrate 25 years membership, I hope you make the good friends I’ve made, had the memories both good and bad that live with me forever, and don’t have to wait as long as me for a Labour Government.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Tweets that mention My Past of Politics. « Hannmrfitz's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

